Effective January 1, 2009, New Jersey will become the third state to have mandatory Family Leave Insurance (FLI). The FLI law enables eligible employees to collect up to six-weeks of insurance when out of work to care for a newborn, newly adopted child, or an ill family member. Employees will be able to collect such insurance effective July 1, 2009.
Although the FLI law is commonly referred to as a “leave law” it would not require employers to grant a leave of absence or to keep a job open with a right to guaranteed reinstatement, although FLI can be collected during the time an employee is on a leave of absence under the federal Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) or the New Jersey Family Leave Act.
This seminar provides an overview of FLI, including:
What employers are covered;
Reasons for receiving FLI;
The use of paid time off;
Calculating time off; and
Wrongful Termination liability
Date & Location
May 13, 2009 - Holiday Inn, Princeton (click link at top of page to register for this location)
$90 per person (EANJ Member)
$135 per person (Non-Member)
Registration will begin at 8:30am. Each session will run from 9am through 11:30am.
Substitutions are permitted, however, in order to meet program commitments, cancellations made less than two (2) working days before the program date or “no-shows” must be charged the full registration fee.
HRCI CREDITS PENDING: 2.25