Family Leave Insurance Begins, Minimum Wage Goes Up

Printer-friendly version

Effective July 1, 2009, the New Jersey Family Leave Insurance law (FLI) enables eligible employees to collect up to six-weeks of state paid monetary benefits when out of work to care for a newborn, newly adopted child, or an ill family member. The law applies to every employer, regardless of size. Additionally, employees working part time and suffering a wage loss due to family care or bonding leave may receive benefits provided all other eligibility requirements are met.

Effective July 24, 2009, the federal minimum wage goes up to $7.25 per hour, exceeding New Jersey’s $7.15.